Japanese words and Phrases

Essential Japanese Phrases and Resources


Hiragana and Katakana Cheat Sheets

Hiragana Practice Sheets

Katakana Practice Sheets

Japanese Words & Phrases: the basics

Being understood

Greetings & Introductions

Essential Basics

Essential Japanese words

Colors in Japanese

Japanese Words & Phrases: Express yourself

Nationalities in Japanese




Learning Japanese is not as hard as you think.

The Japanese written language is comprised of three different writing systems: Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji. Hiragana and Katakana are both referred to as the Kana symbols.

It is recommended that you Learn Hiragana first

Hiragana is used to write native Japanese words or to spell words or part of words that don’t have their own Kanji symbol. Kanji symbols are the busy looking characters derived from Chinese. Katakana is used mainly to write foreign words that have made their way into Japanese.

Hiragana and Katakana each consist of 46 basic symbols which can be modified slightly to cover every syllable you need. A lot of Hiragana symbols resemble Katakana symbols so you are already on your way to mastering that too.

You can Learn Hiragana and Katakana in under a day with Dr. Moku, some people have managed to learn Hiragana or Katakana in just one hour by using our mnemonic learning systems.

Learn about Hiragana here and Learn about Katakana here

Check out our solutions for learning to read and write Japanese. We´ve got iPhone and Android apps waiting for you!

Latest Posts

January 30th, 2020
Our new App: Learn Languages with Dr. Moku
Read More
animated show first look thumbnail
August 21st, 2019
Moku Mundo! Language, arts and laughs for all ages
Read More